Our Awards

Michael Tamburri (Western Australia), immediate Past Global Chairman, and current Chairman of Asia Pacific was awarded the prestigious André Simon Gold medal on September 21st, 2023 at Tetsuya’s restaurant, the venue for the gala dinner of the Sydney Festival. Michael was recognised for his dedication and outstanding service to the Society during the pandemic years and also his work for his zone and branch for many years.  Michael has attended numerous festivals when travelling was permitted meeting and sharing food and wine experiences with members around the world.

Much deserved André Simon Silver medals were awarded to Americas members Kathy Kallaus (Jacksonsville) and John Danza (Chicago) at the Gala Dinner of the Chicago Festival on September 9th. Kathy was presented with the award for her excellent work as the Publisher/Editor of the Americas magazine Wine Food & Friends enlarging its content, evolving its style and changing it to have an international appeal too. She has also been the Secretary for her branch since 1998.  John received the award for the role he has fulfilled as Chairman of the International Website Committee and also Chairman of the Americas E-Communications Committee.  He has worked diligently to significantly expand the functionality of the website.  John has also been the Society's unofficial 'historian' due to his years of collecting André Simon's work, a number of which are available for members to view in the Society's Archives.  Congratulations to both for this much deserved award.  

Left to Right: Kathy Kallaus (Jacksonville), John Danza (Chicago)

We are also very pleased to report on four worthy recipients of the André Simon Bronze medal in the Americas. They are Dr Richard Baum, Physicians of LA (May 31, 2023), Diane Forristall, Council Bluffs (January 22, 2023), Ira Greene, New York (June 6, 2023) and John Sullivan, Miami (June 6, 2023).  Thank you to them all for their hard work and contributions to maintaining the excellent work of their branch.

Left to right: Dr Richard Baum (Physicians of LA), Diane Forristall (Council Bluffs), Ira Greene (New York), John Sullivan (Miami)