Our Awards

Andre Simon Gold Medal – new Global Chairman Mike Donohoe was awarded the AS Gold in recognition of his dedicated work for the Society internationally and his enthusiastic and distinguished service towards the prosperity of the Americas.  Mike joined the IWFS in 1997 and became an Americas board member in 2003 since when he has been an active member of a number of committees as well as being Americas Chairman (as mentioned above).  Mike has been a member of the International Council of Management since 2017. Mike is wearing this in the picture above, positioned below his Global Chairman’s chain.

Andre Simon Silver Medal – James Lin was awarded the AS Silver medal on 22 April 2023 to recognise his dedication to the Society on an international and regional level when he was a member of the ICM and also APZ Chairman from 2018-2020.  James has also been the President of the Taipei branch from 2017-2018. James was instrumental in the organisation of the APZ festival in Auckland, New Zealand in 2019.

Andre Simon Bronze Medal – Christopher Ankner, Americas board member was awarded for his twelve years of meritorious service to the IWFS Americas during which time he has served on a number of committees including the Marketing Committee and the Finance Committee as well as serving as Assistant Treasurer.


Diploma – Alex Sokol Blosser was awarded the Society Diploma in recognition of his longstanding commitment and support as Wines Consultant for Oregon (Red) Wines for the IWFS Vintage Guide. He has fulfilled this role since 2011. The Society has benefited from him providing his expert knowledge and advice, freely, on the wines of Oregon.  Alex was presented with his Diploma, by IWFS Honorary President, Chris Bonsall – who was the Wines Committee Chair when Alex was asked if he would fulfil the role for us.